Shop for New York Giants gear at

6 Giants Named to the Pro Bowl!


6 Giant were named to the Pro Bowl, per

“A year after sending just one player to the Pro Bowl in a Super Bowl-winning season, the Giants will be well-represented in Hawaii in this year’s all-star game.

The NFL will announce later today that six players from the NFC East champion Giants have been selected to the Pro Bowl – guard Chris Snee, defensive end Justin Tuck, kicker John Carney, punter Jeff Feagles, quarterback Eli Manning and center Shaun O’Hara. That is the Giants’ largest Pro Bowl contingent since the 1990 Super Bowl champions sent seven players to the game.

Snee, Tuck, Carney and Feagles are starters.

It is the second Pro Bowl for both Carney and Feagles and the first for the other four Giants. Carney was first selected in 1994 as a member of the San Diego Chargers and his 14-year gap between selections is a record. Feagles went to his first Pro Bowl in 1995 with the Arizona Cardinals – a 13-year hiatus that is second to Carney’s.

Indianapolis’ Peyton Manning is expected to be named to the AFC squad, which means the Pro Bowl will feature two quarterback-playing brothers for the first time.

Eli Manning is the first Giants quarterback to be selected to the Pro Bowl since Phil Simms in 1993. Snee is the first guard since Ron Stone in 2001 and O’Hara the first Giants center to go to the game since Bart Oates in 1993.

Before Carney, no Giants kicker had been selected to the Pro Bowl since Ali Haji-Sheikh in 1983. Feagles is the first Giants punter to be honored since Sean Landeta in 1990.

Tuck is the second Giants defensive end to be selected in as many seasons. Osi Umenyiora was the team’s lone representative last year. He has missed the entire 2008 season with a knee injury. The Giants had two defensive ends play in the game in 2005 in Umenyiora and Michael Strahan, who went for the seventh and last time.

The Giants also had several alternates selected to the team: middle linebacker Antonio Pierce, tight end Kevin Boss, fullback Madison Hedgecock and special teamer Chase Blackburn are first alternates. Defensive tackle Fred Robbins is a second alternate. Tackle David Diehl and running back Brandon Jacobs are third alternates. If a starter has to drop out because of injury or personal reasons, the next alternate is given the first opportunity replace him.”

Congrats to the six Giants, who have all had great seasons. We wish them well in Honolulu.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Giants Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply